Location(s): Melbourne
Qualification(s): LLB(Hons), BA, GradDipJourn

Kathy Bedford is an Associate in Maurice Blackburn’s superannuation and insurance practice in Melbourne. After a successful career as a broadcaster and nurse, Kathy completed her Bachelor of Laws with Honours at Deakin University in 2014, where she was the top student.

Kathy brings maturity, life experience and tenacity into her role as a lawyer helping people with general and life insurance disputes and disability benefits under their superannuation funds. She has particular skills in litigation, attention to detail and a commitment to seeing things through.

“I thrive on the complex and challenging nature of superannuation and insurance law; making sense of the convoluted language used in insurance policies that are seemingly designed to confuse and shut out potential claimants,” says Kathy.

“In moving into legal practice, I wanted to bring the advocacy skills gained in my years of nursing and journalism to protecting people’s legal rights and entitlements.

“Many of our clients suffer from major physical and mental illness. It is a privilege to be able to help them obtain their legal rights and entitlements.

“I am constantly inspired to do better and work harder by the real life battles and hardships faced by many of our clients. I am so proud to work for a firm that takes on difficult cases on a no win -no fee basis.”

Kathy lives in regional Victoria and is passionate about providing quality legal services to people wherever they choose to live.

Outside of work, Kathy spends time with her two sons, husband and dog. She also enjoys running and has completed several marathons.

Memberships & accreditation

  • Law Institute of Victoria member
  • Victorian Women Lawyers member
  • Maurice Blackburn Women’s Network member


  • Supreme Court Prize for highest scoring Deakin Law Graduate 2014
  • ABC Local Radio Broadcaster of the Year 2011
  • Rural Press Club – Best Feature 2012
  • EVA – Elimination of Violence Against Women – Best Radio 2012 and 2009